To help keep your data safe and secure, it’s encrypted.
Important:
You can set up your device to automatically back up your files.
Your Google One backup can take up to 24 hours. When your data is saved, “On” will be displayed below the data types you selected.
Your phone’s data is automatically backed up to your Google Account. This includes:
Additional device data is backed up when you use specific Google apps:
Learn what happens when you back up your photos and videos.
Learn how to back up files and folders to Google Drive.When you add your Google Account to a phone that's been set up, you have the option to restore what you'd previously backed up for that Google Account onto the phone.
To restore a backed-up account to a reset phone, follow the on-screen steps. For more help, get help from your device manufacturer.
Your photos and videos are already available in Google Photos. But you can restore the rest of the data you backed up while you set up your new phone for the first time or after a factory reset. At setup, to restore your data, follow the on-screen steps.
The process can take up to 24 hours to complete fully.
Important: Both devices must be on the same Android version or your new device must be on a later Android version. If your new device is on an older Android version than your previous device, it may result in an incomplete data transfer. Learn how to check and update your Android version.
You can check what data and which apps are included in your backup.
If you've saved your Google Contacts to your Google Account, they'll sync automatically. If you have other contacts on a phone or SIM card, learn how to manually restore contacts.
Important: The data that Google collects is encrypted in transit.
Your backup data is sent to Google’s servers and helps you transfer data between devices. Google collects certain information to perform services on your device. Some of this functionality uses Google Play services. For example, backup collects:
To disable your backup: